addhasem.blogg.se

Consolidate iphoto libraries
Consolidate iphoto libraries





  1. #CONSOLIDATE IPHOTO LIBRARIES MAC OS#
  2. #CONSOLIDATE IPHOTO LIBRARIES WINDOWS#

Also, you can format it however you want including HFS+ Journaled which is key for the iPhoto Library.

consolidate iphoto libraries

The sparse image is valuable because it will grow as needed.

#CONSOLIDATE IPHOTO LIBRARIES MAC OS#

The Mac OS disk utility has the ability to create a sparse image.

consolidate iphoto libraries

It has worked well for me and removes almost all of the issues I had with the iSCSI drive. Regarding #5 (and #1 indirectly), as you mentioned, I'd be okay preventing mounting, is there a way to prevent that?įYI.I found a solution that works very well for sharing an iPhoto Library. I will try that or I will just ** it up and back it up directly to an external drive periodically. I like your idea of #6 using Time Machine. With that being said, it appears to work okay with iSCSI HFS+ formatted drive, but as you listed, there are other issues along with it. I would just have the iPhoto library on one of the main shares.

consolidate iphoto libraries

If the QNAP supported HFS+, I wouldn't need it at all. I get that using iSCSI isn't optimal and I really don't want to use it. I am just going off many posts via Google from a higher level of expertise and Apple reps directly. It appears as if they format of the drive does matter, but I am not technical enough to understand why. However, from those that have tried it, it appears storing it on any format that isn't HFS+ Journaled causes major issues. Therefore, I am already trying to do something that iPhoto doesn't like. It is shocking that Steve Jobs doesn't share his library amongst many computers in his home. IPhoto (as per Apple) is not intended to be shared. Thank you so much for the GREAT detail and responsiveness. Sorry to say, iSCSI is in my opinion abused in many NAS deployments. The only way to share photos from an iPhoto library are Facebook, Flickr, MobileMe, or sync by iTunes to iPhone/iPod - direct sharing of the complete library is beyond scope. by using TimeMachine - to the same or to a second NAS.ħ. As of today, the only reliable backup of a QNAP NAS iSCSI "disk" can be done from the iSCSI initiator, the client - e.g. The only status, where you can do a reliable block based backup of an iSCSI container, is while the iSCSI "disk" is not accessed nor mounted on the client OS.Ħ. In theory, block based replication (locally or remote) can be done, but this featue is missing up to v3.3 firmware.ĥ. Thus, you will not be able to backup to a direct "readable" disk format. There is no safe way to back-up a block device like a iSCSI container from the NAS side, as the NAS has no knowledge on the data structure at all. Therefore, the NAS can not run the iPhoto library as a standalone service, regardless the file system.Ĥ. This does NOT require a specific on disk structure repective file system, as that part is fully hidden by the network file access.ģ.

#CONSOLIDATE IPHOTO LIBRARIES WINDOWS#

You can store the iPhoto library on an AFS or Windows File share, but to access it, you still need an OS X computer - one per iPhoto library, as the iPhoto library is not shareale between multiple clients. In most case, the data or at lkeast the file system will be destroyed in seconds.Ģ. There is no safety built into the iSCSI protocol to prohibit concurrent access. iSCSI is a storage network protocol, allowing one computer to access a storage block device over a LAN. I'm uncertain whether it will even work once its completed probably should have tested with a tiny library to see, but I didn't.Īny help or references to resources would be appreciated.1. I am currently using the iPhoto Library Manager to rebuild the iPhoto library, however it is taking a long time. Is there some extra step that I am missing? Or does the media browser only work with local files? I cannot seem to find the answer to this question, though I know many will probably run into this. In other words, when I go to the Media section and select Photos, I do not see my photos. The file chooser dialog's media browser does not seem to work with with the new iPhoto library location. The problem lies when I attempt to attach a photo to an email or upload a photo to the website. Aside from some expected extra latency, all seems to work. Then, using the hold-down-option-button method, I changed the referenced iPhoto library for the iPhoto app. So it makes sense to consolidate photos into a single library on an external drive and have every computer reference this library.įor starters, I moved the biggest iPhoto library to the external drive. Also, we have multiple iPhoto libraries on various computers.

consolidate iphoto libraries

Like many others, the number of photos that we are storing these days is growing.







Consolidate iphoto libraries